Tasty treats! {carrot cake and powerful pumpkin protein bars}

So I enjoy a tasty sweet treat as much as the next girl and I don’t let myself I hungry! So when I get that urging to have a cake or a sweet treat I make healthy alternatives to the processed sugary brownies, cupcakes, muffins etc.

My all time favourite treat to make is the carrot cake in a mug. I got this recipe off Blogilates. I lie it because it requires no fancy ingredients that I usually have around the kitchen and (even though I was VERY skeptical the first time I tried it) it actually tastes like REAL CARROT CAKE!!!

It is so easy to make too
1 shredded carrot
2 TBS banana mash
1 egg
2 TBS almond flour (but I use oat flour that I make myself and I’m sure you can use regular flour)
2-3 TBS stevia
1 TBS pumpkin pie spice
A wee bit I baking soda

Mix it in a mug and put it in the microwave for 2-3 minutes until cooked through.

Then you’re basically done! Blogilates has a tofu cream cheese frosting that is nice but too much effort for me. So I usually cut it in half, put some Greek yogurt inside and ontop, cinnamon, and some walnuts. So simple, easy and SO HEALTHY! Love it!!!

The other tasty treat I made this week was my powerful pumpkin protein bars. Andy and I are running a Mens Health Survival of the Fittest race this weekend. A 10k with obstacles every kilometre (usually takes over two hours to complete!) so I thought we needed some energy to keep us fuelled and with winter coming I’m loving the pumpkin!

So here is the recipe for my bars:

1 cup pitted dates (220g)
½ cup raw cashews (100g)
2 Tablespoons raw pumpkin seeds + 1 tablespoon raw pumpkin seeds (garnish)
2 Tablespoons unsweetened coconut flakes + some for garnishing
¼ cup rolled oats OR ¼ cup vanilla protein powder
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
½ teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
¼ cup pure pumpkin puree (I used canned, you can always use fresh!)

Put the ingredients into a food processor and whizz together! It might need a bit of help since the dates are so sticky. Put them into a pan lines with baking paper (yes it is really that sticky! Might help to wet your hands while you’re pressing it into the pan) and put into the freezer for 2-3 hours to firm up. The. Cut apart and individually wrap in cling film for individual servings. These are packed with protein, good fats, oils, sweetness and yummyness!!! Andy liked them so much that there were already three eaten before they were wrapped up! I kept hearing the freezer door opening 😉

20131019-135159.jpg

20131019-135207.jpg

20131019-135231.jpg

20131019-135309.jpg

20131019-135248.jpg

One thought on “Tasty treats! {carrot cake and powerful pumpkin protein bars}

Leave a Reply

