Stewin it! I have made the best soup in the world!

So working a few long shifts means the slow cooker comes out. I have one vegetarian-modified stew and another incredible amazing soup

The first one is a beef vegetable stew:
1 lb boneless beef chuck roast cut into small pieces OR 1 eggplant cut into bite sized pieces for a vegetarian option.
3 carrots chopped
2 potatoes chopped
1 onion chopped
1 bay leaf
1/2 tsp dried thyme
2 cans chopped tomatoes
1/2 cup frozen peas
1 cup water
Chuck it all in the slow cooker and tree you go! So yummy and easy 🙂

20140205-112835.jpg

Now….drum roll please for the soup I the month! This smelled unbelievable while it was cooking. I was just astounded at how yummy it smelled I can’t even put words to it!

3 14oz cans veggie stock
1 can tomato purée
1 can white beans
1/2 cup uncooked rice
1/2 cup chopped onions
1 tsp dried basil
2 garlic cloves chopped
8 cups spinach or kale
Toss everything except the greens into the slow cooker for the day. About 30-60 minutes before you’re ready to eat toss the greens in.
THIS SOUP IS INCREDIBLE! So filling and warm and delicious. One of my favourite soups I have ever had. You have to try it 🙂

20140205-112845.jpg

One thought on “Stewin it! I have made the best soup in the world!

  1. I do a beef stew with beef, leeks, swede, carrots, potato and parsnips. I have to have some good old suet dumplings with it though mmm. I do a sweet potato and roasted butternut squash soup as well which is lush. Slow cookers rock! 😉 x

Leave a Reply

